Loading article…
Loading article…
Last updated on Aug 18, 2026
Understand how Maxio Platform picks up contact merges and archives performed in Xero, and what happens to Invoices under a merged contact.
Xero provides the ability to merge contacts (Customers) inside their platform. During the merge process, all transactions in Xero like Invoices are moved from the merged contact record into the master / retained contact. It is recommended that you do not make this a normal practice of your business and you should use it only in rare circumstances.
When a merge occurs in Xero, Maxio Platform will pick up on the merge of the contact records during the next Xero Sync. The contact record that has been merged will be marked as "Inactive" in Maxio.
Important: Invoices or other transactions under the merged contact do not automatically move to the new customer record. An update has to occur to those transactions for Maxio Platform to pick up on the change of contact assignment. Any edit to those invoices/transactions will trigger the next sync to pick up on the move. Only the Invoices and their Invoice Line items will be moved during this process and transactions will remain in the original customer. This will cause an alert for Transactions/Invoice Line Items in different Contact/Customer records in Maxio Platform.
Further, if you have a Transaction Lock Date applied in Maxio Platform then only the Invoices that are dated after that lock date will be moved.
A Contact that is archived in Xero, will be marked as "Inactive" in Maxio Platform upon the next sync with Xero.
For the full list of what syncs between Maxio and Xero, see Sync Data Between Maxio and Xero.
Still need help?
Reach out and our support team will take it from here.